STWST 2020 MORE VS LESS / Annual Claim 2020


ANNUAL CLAIM 2020: In the year 2020, STWST has developed the annual theme for the disproportionately tilted worlds or excess and scarcity: STWST 2020 MORE VS LESS. With the alternately counted combatants MORE VS LESS we ask relevant questions about more-or-less situations, the non-equal areas, the counter-validity zones and the non-zero-sum games of the future. STWST 2020 MORE VS LESS TO COME.

ANNUAL CLAIM: STWST 2020 OPEN CALL STWST48:STWST48x6 MORE LESS

ANNUAL THEMES OF EARLIER YEARS: 2019/Stay Unfinished, 2018/Prosecco City of Media Arts, …


Efeu Ex / 2012 - ongoing

IVY EXtended is an installation on the facade of STWST. The installation means growing nature, water circulation, a steampunk machine, a system of a pneumatic machine, entropy, technology, questions of information and the formular of Ludwig Boltzmann - one of the fathers of informationtechnology. The idea of a technical WILD IVY growing over the house of STWST was already born in 1991, before the internet started to change our lifes with the World Wide Web. After IVY EX Infolab started.



Infolab / 2013 - ongoing

infolab:

The Infolab is an open laboratory format that Stadtwerkstatt has been running for several years. Infolab is looking for new definitions of new media, art and information. Information is not only important in technology. It is also the engine in evolution. The goal is to look at the concept of information from an artistic perspective. Therefore, Infolab supports art and communication projects in which the concept of information deviates from the information-theoretical concept of Claude Shannon. Infolab has existed since 2012 to ensure autonomy and creativity in a global, rational information society.


Mycelium Network Society / 2017 - ongoing

Mycelium Network Society (MNS) is a Stadtwerkstatt (Linz, Austria) and cycleX (Andes, New York) initiative to connect rhizomic mycelium network nodes. The MNS thematizes mushrooms, spores and mycelia as artistically intended, alternative information networks.
-
Image: mushroom@cycleX (2019) by Erwin Carl


QUASIKUNST / 2014 - ongoing

Dichotomies, contradictions. Contexts that question other contexts. All Opposites inclusive.
Quasikunst at STWST48x2 (2016) was defined as: „… a research initiative, conceived for Stadtwerkstatt. Quasikunst in its research mode positions itself in Stadtwerkstatts New Art Contexts. And although being apparently “low-tech”-oriented, Quasikunst arranges systemic constants of technology and art. Connection to NEW CONTEXT STAGING



Gibling / 2012 - ongoing
Art as currency, currency as art

The Gibling started in 2012 and is a community currency, similar to a regional currency. On the other hand, the Gibling is an art project on its own. Each year the banknotes are designed by a new artist. In the interplay of art and currency the Gibling is building an own art collections since 2016. Edition 2019: Peter Weibel
http://punkaustria.at



STWST48 / 2015 - ongoing

STWST48 is a 48-hour non-stop festival in September. STWST48 presents results from the Infolabs, from formats of Stadtwerkstatts art production, of local and international artists, of Quasikunst, and also the results of the Residencies of the artists that take place on the Eleonore during the summer. The artists are present at the time of STWST48 in Linz. STWST48 takes place parallel to the Ars Elecronica and is carried out with support of the AEC.


STWST48 / 2015 - Crashing the Info
STWST48x2 / 2016 - Non Stop. Not Comply
STWST48x3 / 2017 - MIND LESS
STWST48x4 / 2018 - SLEEP
STWST48x5 / 2019 - STAY UNFINISHED
2020 - STWST48x6 MORE LESS - OPEN CALL


Deckdock / 2009 - ongoing
86 Meter Riverbank in the Center of Linz - Close to the Nibelungenbrücke


DoNAUtics doNOWtic / 2011 - ongoing

Art after “New Media”.
Donautics is a group of artists, boat people and programmers who are working on and with vessels. Vessels/island have to be intependend and and work autonomously. This vessels could be seen as islands in our global world of information.



Artists In Residence / 2011 - ongoing

Each year we invite up to 6 artists to come to a boat in the Linzer harbour.

Veranstaltungen / ongoing

In addition to music events and readings, various formats are continuously developed and organized in an art context and for current political reasons. Here are some examples: From Pimmel, Porn, Protest to the perennial festival series Treffpunkt Afrika to the ongoing project The Stadtwerkstatt as Public Space. Also a selection of individual events and series in cooperation with STWST Club.


Webshop / ongoing

The Stadtwerkstatt-Webshop is a current “Project” of the Stadtwerkstatt because it is in the revision mode. Nevertheless, find nice things under:

http://shop.stwst.at/

STWST 2020 MORE VS LESS / 2020


JAHRESCLAIM 2020: Die völlig ausbalancierte ST-W-ST hat im Gleichstandjahr 20-20 das Jahresthema für die unverhältnismäßig gekippten Mehr-oder-weniger-Welten entwickelt: STWST 2020 MORE VS LESS. Mit den abwechselnd angezählten Kombattanten MORE VS LESS stellen wir im Jahr 2020 die relevanten Fragen nach den zukünftigen Mehr-oder-weniger-Situationen, den Nicht-Gleichstandsbereichen, den Gegen-Gültigkeitszonen und den Arealen der Nicht-Nullsummenspiele. STWST 2020 MORE VS LESS TO COME.

JAHRESCLAIM: STWST 2020 OPEN CALL STWST48:STWST48x6 MORE LESS

JAHRESTHEMEN FRÜHERER JAHRE - 2019/Stay Unfinished, 2018/Prosecco City of Media Arts, …


Efeu Ex / 2012 - ongoing

EFEU EXtended ist eine Fassadeninstallation am Haus der Stadtwerkstatt. Sie bedeutet Natur, Entropie, Technologie, eine Steampunk-Maschine, zirkulierende Kreisäufe von pneumatischen Systemen und Wasser, und im Haus die Formel von Ludwig Boltzmann - einem der Väter der Informationstechnologie. Bereits 1991 wurde die Idee eines technischen WILD IVYs, der über das Haus der Stadtwerkstatt wächst, geboren - bevor das Internet mit dem World Wide Web begann, unser Leben zu verändern. Nach EFEU EX hat die Stadtwerkstatt das Infolab gestartet.


Infolab / 2012 - ongoing

infolab:

Das Infolab ist ein offenes Laborformat, das die Stadtwerkstatt seit mehreren Jahren betreibt. Das Infolab sucht nach neuen Definitionen der neuen Medien bzw Informationtechnologie. Im Umgang mit Information ist nicht nur die Technologie wichtig. Sie ist auch der Motor der Evolution. Ziel ist es, den Informationsbegriff aus einer künstlerischen Perspektive zu betrachten. Das Infolab unterstützt deshalb Kunst- und Kommunikationsprojekte, bei denen der Informationsbegriff von dem informationstheoretischen Begriff von Claude Shannon abweicht. Das Infolab gibt es seit 2012, mit dem Ziel Autonomie und Kreativität in einer globalen rationalen Informationsgesellschaft zu sichern.



Mycelium Network Society / 2017 - ongoing

Die Mycelium Network Society (MNS) ist eine Initiative von Stadtwerkstatt (Linz, A) und cycleX (Andes, New York). Die MNS thematisiert Pilze, Sporen und Myzele als künstlerisch intendierte, alternative Informationsnetzwerke.

mushroom@cycleX (2019) by Erwin Carl



QUASIKUNST / 2014 - ongoing

Gegensätze, Widersprüche. Kontexte befragen Zusammenhänge. All opposites inclusive. Quasikunst wurde im Rahmen von STWST48x2 (2016) definiert als: „… Research-Initiative, die für die Stadtwerkstatt konzipiert wurde. Quasikunst positioniert sich in den von der Stadtwerkstatt ausgerufenen neuen Kunstkontexten. Und obwohl offensichtlich „low-tech“-orientiert, arrangiert Quasikunst systemische Konstanten von Technologie und Kunst. Verbindung zu NEW CONTEXT STAGING



Gibling / 2012 - ongoing
Kunst als Währung. Währung als Kunst. Der Gibling begann im Jahr 2012 und ist eine Community-Währung, ähnlich einer regionalen Währung. Außerdem ist der Gibling selbst Kunstprojekt. Jedes Jahr werden die Banknoten von einem neuen Künstler, einer neuen Künstlerin entworfen und als Editionen herausgegeben. Der Gibling baut seit 2016 eine eigene Kunstsammlung auf. Edition 2019: Peter Weibel

http://punkaustria.at


STWST48 / 2015 - ongoing

STWST48 ist ein 48-Stunden-non-stop-Festival im September. Bei STWST48 werden Ergebnisse aus den Infolabs, aus Formaten der Stadtwerkstatt-Kunstproduktion, aus Quasikunst, aus den Ergebnisse der Künstlerinnen-Residencies, die auf der Eleonore während des Sommers stattfinden, präsentiert. Die Künstlerinnen sind zum Zeitpunkt von STWST48 in Linz anwesend. STWST48 findet parallel zur Ars Elecronica statt und wird mit Support des AECs durchgeführt.

STWST48 / 2015 - Crashing the Info
STWST48x2 / 2016 - Non Stop. Not Comply
STWST48x3 / 2017 - MIND LESS
STWST48x4 / 2018 - SLEEP
STWST48x5 / 2019 - STAY UNFINISHED
2020 - STWST48x6 MORE LESS - OPEN CALL




DoNAUtics doNOWtic / 2011 - ongoing

Kunst nach den „Neuen Medien“: Donautics ist eine Gruppe von KünstlerInnen, Bootsleuten und ProgrammiererInnen, die an und mit Schiffen arbeiten. Schiffe und Inseln müssen unabhängig sein und autonom arbeiten. Diese Schiffe könnten als Inseln unserer globalen Informationswelt angesehen werden.


Baumpatenschaft
Beyond the Water


Artists In Residence / 2011 - ongoing

Seit 2009 betreibt der Verein Halfbit.org das Schiff Eleonore. Seit 2009 lädt die Stadtwerkstatt jedes Jahr Künstlerinnen ein um dort neue Ideen und Konzepte zu erarbeiten. Die ersten 10 Jahr war das Schiff im Winterhfen Linz stationiert. Seit 2009 liegt das Schiff im Traun or Anker.

Veranstaltungen / ongoing

Neben Musikveranstaltungen und Lesungen werden kontinuierlich diverse Formate im Kunstkontext und aus aktuellem politischem Anlass entwickelt und veranstaltet. Hier einige Beispiele: Von Pimmel, Porn, Protest über die mehrjährige Festival-Reihe Treffpunkt Afrika bis zum ongoing-Projekt Die Stadtwerkstatt als öffentlicher Raum. Ebenso eine Auswahl von Einzelveranstaltungen und Reihen in Koop mit STWST Club.


Webshop / ongoing

Der Stadtwerkstatt-Webshop ist derzeitiges „Projekt“ der Stadtwerkstatt, weil er sich im Überarbeitungsmodus befindet. Trotzdem schöne Dinge finden unter:

http://shop.stwst.at/